Canoe Slalom

CANI Canoe Slalom Squads

In early 2014 development and talent squads were established within Canoe Slalom in Northern Ireland, in early 2015 a Talent ID squad was established to help further populate the Talent Pathway. They attend weekly water based midweek training (summer months) and monthly two day weekend water based sessions (all year round). The sessions are held at either Gilford or Shaw’s Bridge and are coached by Matthew McKnight, Huw Swetnum, Andrew Hadfield, Adam Johnstone or James Bailey. During the winter month’s weekly indoor ergo training sessions are held in Belfast.

Throughout the year squad members attend a large number of domestic and international race events at locations throughout the UK including HPP, Grandtully, Llandysul and Lee Valley. In 2015 the squad took part in training camps held in Nottingham, Grandtully, Llandysul, Lee Valley, Prague and Krakow. In 2014 Development and Talent squad athletes enjoyed a five day training camp in Sault Brenaz, France during July.

Currently there are seventeen squad members across all squads with head coach Matt McKnight profiling squad members on a number of broadly categorised characteristics in the following areas: Competition, Technical, Lifestyle, Mental and Physical.

In 2015 several members of the Talent Squad had notable individual achievements including Jake Cochrane, Elliott Davidson, Cade Ryan and Alistair McCreery being selected to represent Ireland. The highlight for Jake, Elliott and Cade was representing Ireland at the Senior World Championships in London and for Alistair travelling to Foz de Iguazu, Brazil to compete in his first Junior World Championships.

Squad members 2015/16

Talent                                           Development                                          Talent ID

Jake Cochrane                               Beth Thompson                                        Adam Aston

Eoin Teague                                   Zoe Thompson                                         Fearghal Creagh

Cade Ryan                                      Tiernan Gribbin                                        Patrick Creagh

Alistair McCreery                           Sean McLarnon                                        Sean McStay

Patrick Creber                                Conleth McLarnon

Kirsten Eatock                                Kiera Davidson

Elliot Davidson

Talent Squad Member Alistair McCreery